Canada’s Premiers Announce 2015 Literacy Award Recipients

September 8, 2015 – Today, in honour of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers announced the recipients of the 11th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. The award is presented each year to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non-governmental organizations and businesses in each province and territory to celebrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2015 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Taber and District Community Adult Learning Association - Alberta
Helen Domshy - British Columbia
Pauline Petti - Manitoba
Russell Simms - Newfoundland and Labrador
Mélanie Massé - New Brunswick
Christa Piercey - New Brunswick
Carol Elanik - Northwest Territories
Andy Ewing - Nova Scotia
Elijah Tigullaraq - Nunavut
Brenda Krys - Ontario
Wilfred Augustine - Prince Edward Island
Hélène Simard - Québec
READ Saskatoon Inc. - Saskatchewan
Margaret Workman – Yukon

“On behalf of my fellow Premiers, I offer congratulations to the recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Paul Davis, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “This year’s recipients have worked hard and shown an exceptional commitment to literacy. I am pleased to honour their accomplishments.”

Premiers recognize that literacy is an important part of every Canadian’s ability to participate as a full and active citizen in all areas of society. Established in 2004, the Council of the Federation Literacy Award recognizes the successes of adults that have undertaken literacy training, and celebrates the valuable contributions made by Canadians across the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy.

- MORE -