Council of the Federation Announces Literacy Award Winners for 2009

REGINA, August 5, 2009 – Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the fifth annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the award celebrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2009 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Ken Steele – Alberta
Laurie Gould – British Columbia
Donald Richard – Manitoba
Karon Campbell Connors – New Brunswick
Claudia Dubé – New Brunswick
Marc Glassman – Newfoundland and Labrador
Annie Whane – Northwest Territories
Blaise Sullivan – Nova Scotia
Quluaq Catherine Pilakapsi – Nunavut
Jean Doull – Ontario
Workplace Learning PEI Inc. – Prince Edward Island
Francine Guindon – Québec
Margaret Lipp – Saskatchewan
Emma Sam – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I congratulate these recipients of the fifth annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Brad Wall, Premier of Saskatchewan and incoming Chair of the Council of the Federation. “Through their tireless efforts and devotion to literacy, these individuals and organizations play an important role in improving the lives of people in their communities and throughout the country.”

The award recognizes the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy. It is presented to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non- governmental organizations and businesses in each province and territory.

Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

- MORE -