Council of the Federation Announces Literacy Award Winners for 2011

July 18, 2011 – Canada‘s Premiers today announced the recipients of the seventh annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. Presented in each province and territory, the award celebrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2011 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Amber Kidd – Alberta
Dee McRae – British Columbia
Michael Moore – Manitoba
A.L. Gullison Disaster Kleenup Ltd., Larry Gullison (President) – New Brunswick
Apprentissage pour adultes Chaleur Inc. – New Brunswick
Nancy Murphy – Newfoundland and Labrador
Sylvia Clement – Northwest Territories
Trena L. Simmonds – Nova Scotia
Louise Flaherty – Nunavut
Ningwakwe George – Ontario
Joan MacFarlane – Prince Edward Island
Louisette Morin– Québec
Dr. Wei He – Saskatchewan
Claire Derome – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, it is my pleasure to congratulate the 2011 recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Christy Clark, Premier of British Columbia and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “This year‘s recipients have all shown an exceptional commitment to literacy and they are worthy of recognition by Canadians across the country.”

The award recognizes the valuable contributions made by Canadians across the entire spectrum of the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy. It is presented to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

Premiers created the award in 2004 to recognize the importance of literacy as a major factor in Canadians' ability to participate as full and active citizens in all areas of society.

- MORE -